Electronic media editors, news directors’ panel forms executive committee

electronic 1

ISLAMABAD: The senior professionals from broadcast media formed a 16-member executive committee to run affairs of the newly-established Association of Electronic Media Editors and News Directors (AEMEND).
The executive committee will complete membership of the first-ever body of senior TV and digital journalists aimed at promoting independence of media and freedom of expression guaranteed in the constitution of Pakistan and universally acknowledged in Human Rights charter of the United Nations. It will also contribute towards providing opportunities for training television and digital journalists to promote independent journalism.

Azhar Abbas of Geo News was elected AEMEND first president, Muhammad Malick of Hum News and Muhammad Usman of Neo TV as Vice Presidents, Ammad Yousaf of ARY News as General Secretary and representative of Ab Tak News as Treasurer. Other members of the Executive Committee include Farhan Mallick, DN, Samaa TV, Zahid Mazhar DN, Dawn News, Ayaz Khan, Group Editor, Express News, Rashid Mahmood, DN Aaj TV, Habib Akram Dunya TV, Atif Fakhar, DN, GNN, Farooq Majeed, DN 92 News, Ghulam Mustafa Jarwar, DN, KTN News, Hafiz Tariq, DN News One, Mian Tahir DN, Channel 24, Mubarak Ali, Controller News, Khyber TV. Mahmud Jan, DN of Mashriq TV, Noshad Ali, DN Capital TV and Fawad Khursheed DN Public News also attended the meeting. Senior members of electronic media including Hamid Mir, Fahd Husain, Amir Mateen, Asma Shirazi, Arifa Noor, Amber Shamsi, Gharida Farooqi, Ayaz Khan and Haroon Rashid also attended the meeting and gave their input on issues related to the state of the media. The Secretary General Council of Pakistan Newspapers Editor CPNE, Jabbar Khattak, conducted the formation of the executive council, gave his valuable input and shared the history of the making of the editors’ council in the print media.

Source : The News International

Similar Posts