Nominations invited for RMNP Sadiq Press Freedom Award 2017

The Rural Media Network Pakistan (RMNP) invites nominations for its annual Sadiq Press Freedom Award.

This year RMNP Sadiq Press Freedom Award has been instituted with the support of veteran journalists, media consultant and Former Director International Press Institute (IPI) Alison Bethel McKenzie. It will be given on May 3, 2017 on the eve of World Press Freedom Day in a special ceremony. It carries a cash award of PKR 50,000.

Sadiq Press Freedom Award is intended to honour an individual, organisation or institution that has made a notable contribution to defend and /or to promote press freedom in Pakistan.

The award is named in honour of  late Nawab Sir Sadiq Muhammad Khan Khamis Abbasi , the last ruler of former Princely Bahawalpur State,who had given right of adult franchise to the inhabitants of former Bahawalpur province in 1954 while other citizens of Pakistan were given this right in 1970.

Individuals as well as professional and non-governmental organisations working in the field of media and human rights are invited to nominate themselves or other candidates for the annual award.

The jury, to approve the nominee for Sadiq Press Freedom Award, will include six senior journalists, academics and human rights experts. The members of the jury will be chosen by RMNP.

Nominations should reach to the following address  not later than April 20, 2017

Ehsan Ahmed Sehar


Sadiq Press Freedom Award

Rural Media Network Pakistan

535-536,Sarwar Shah Street

AhmedpurEast,District Bahawalpur


Tel: RMNP (062) 22 73092

Fax:  (062) 22 72253

Cell: 0301 77 40 40 5

Email:[email protected]



Similar Posts